High school football: Felt's Facts Week 7

Published: Thursday, Sept. 27 2012 8:00 a.m. MDT

Canyon View – 2000 – The Falcons advanced past the first round the only time in school history and recorded a school-high seven wins under Danny Lewis.

Delta – 1961-1977 – Several coaches, including Robert Horlacher, Jim Porter, Brent Rock and Bill Brown, guided the Rabbits to three state championships ('66, '68 and '75) and nine region titles in 17 years. Delta piled up a 144-36-4 record amidst seven double-digit win seasons, two undefeated campaigns and a school-best 21-game winning streak (1974-76). Dean Fowles ('75), who later coached the Rabbits from 1982-2004, and Ladd Holman ('68) earned All-State MVP honors while All-State QB Jay Warnick led the '66 title team.

Granger – 1985-1990 – The Lancers grabbed four region championships and advanced as far as the U of U in the playoffs five times. During Mike Fraser's last five seasons and Ray Groth's first, Granger posted a 50-13 record and its only 10-win seasons in 1985 and '87. Steve Embley ('85-86) was named All-State defensive back twice.

Juab – 2004-2008 – Mike Bowring led the Wasps to three region championships, a trio of 10-win seasons and a 44-14 record. Juab went at least to the semifinals four of the five seasons and to the title game in 2004. A pair of Wasps, Kyle Callaway ('04-05) and Cody Keisel ('07-08), were cited as two-time All-State players.

North Sevier – 1984-1986 – Although the Wolves celebrated their most successful season in 2008 when they claimed their only state championship, their best era came earlier when North Sevier linked three straight winning seasons and advanced past the first round twice. Under Glen Partridge, NS won 20 games and a pair of Wolves, Jeff Edwards ('84 & '85) and Blaine Hardy ('85 & '86), were placed twice on the All-State team.

Northridge – 1997-2004 – Knight fans clamored over three consecutive state championships (2000-02) and four of the school's five region titles. Over Fred Fernandes last seven seasons and Eric Thompson's first, Northridge rolled to a 68-14 overall record and a 17-5 playoff mark. Spanning the 2002-03 seasons, the Knights won a school-high 20 straight games. Daniel Coats (2000-01), Brian Kusuda ('02) and Jase McCormick ('01) were awarded All-State MVP. Coats is one of just nine gridders to be All-State MVP twice.

Pleasant Grove – 1955-1957 – The Vikings took home back-to-back state crowns in 1955 and '56 under Ned Alger and won region titles all three years. PG enjoyed back-to-back 11-0 campaigns for the most season wins in its history, and a 27-1-1 record. All but two of the Vikings' 31-game undefeated streak (1954-57), which is tied for second longest in state history, came during the era. Paul Allen ('55-57) is one of only 25 players who are three-time All-State inductees.

Richfield – 1984-1988 – The Wildcats relished their only state championship in 1984 and snatched region crowns in '84, '85 and '88. During Paul Messersmith's last five years, Richfield made two additional championship games appearances and went 43-14 (.754) overall and 13-4 in postseason action. Adam Robinson ('84) achieved All-State MVP recognition.

South Cache – 1944-1945 – The Spartans grabbed one of their two region titles in 1944 and Cliff Poole led SC to a 9-2-3 record over two years. Keith Hughes ('44) and Arroll Nichols ('45) earned All-State honors. South Cache, in Hyrum, competed in football for 45 seasons from 1919-1963.

Taylorsville – 1999 – The Warriors, under Brad Molen, won their only region title and advanced to the state title game for the only time, winning a school-high nine games. Paul Buck, Ryan Filipe and Austin Osegura achieved All-State acclaim. Filipe set a championship-game record by returning a kickoff 99 yards.

Felt's Facts welcomes questions – email utahprepfb@gmail.com.

Try out the new DeseretNews.com design!
try beta learn more
Get The Deseret News Everywhere