High school football: Felt's Facts Week 6

Published: Thursday, Sept. 20 2012 9:00 a.m. MDT

Hunter – 2002-2005 – The Wolverines captured their only state championship and sole undefeated campaign (14-0) in 2003. Hunter locked up region trophies in '02 and '03. Wes Wilcken guided Hunter to a 39-9 record over the four years and Ray Feinga and Tauni Vakapuna gained All-State MVP status in 2003.

Judge Memorial – 1962-1973 – The Bulldogs snared four of the school's nine state championships and wore the region crown six times – including five in a row from 1962-66. Judge made five straight championship game appearances from 1969-73. During Frank Klekas' last four years and the first eight under Gil Cordova, the Bulldogs posted two undefeated, untied seasons and five double-digit win seasons en route to a 107-24 record including 44 shutouts. All-State MVP acclamation came to Dave Dudley ('70), Terry Giblin ('72), Bruce Lovato ('73) and Dave Sadler ('70).

Monument Valley – 2005-2006 – Taking advantage of a schedule heavily peppered with other Navajo Nations opponents, the Cougars rolled to a 16-3 record, including 9-1 in 2005. Jim Dandy coached All-State player Sivel Martin ('05).

Morgan – 1979-1983 – Jan Smith, diagnosed with multiple sclerosis in 1973, and which disease ended his life at age 41 in 1991, directed the Trojans to a pair of state championships in 1979 and '83. Morgan claimed region titles those two seasons and in 1980, when it also advanced to the state title game. Morgan won better than 80% of its games, going 46-11 overall and 10-3 in the playoffs. The 1979 Trojans also celebrated their first-ever undefeated season (12-0). Darin Murdock ('83), Roger Randall ('79), Kyle Wilson ('83) received All-State MVP honors.

North Summit – 1972-1978 – The Braves won the 1972 state championship and streamrolled to seven straight region titles. Their 69-14-1 record included five double-digit win seasons. NS advanced to at least the semifinals all seven years and to the finals four times. Under Earl "Sam" Blonquist, NS was a defensive powerhouse. The '72 team finished the season with eight consecutive shutouts, including both playoff games. The '74 Braves pitched 10 shutouts, a state-record for a season (tied with two others). Overall, NS blanked 43 foes in the 84-game stretch including 36 in span of 55 games. Kenny McQueen ('73), Kevan O'Hara ('72) and Sheldon Smith ('72) achieved All-State MVP acclaim.

Parowan – 1989 – The Rams grabbed their only region crown and made their only championship game appearance with a school-record nine victories under Scott Henderson. Six of Parowan's all-time All-State players competed in '89: Tim Benson, Matt Rogerson, Brandt Subbs, Brandon Thornton, Greg Townsend and Tai Weaver.

Rich – 1994-1997 – The Rebels three-peated as state champs from 1994-'96 and won a then-state record 28 straight games under Jerre Holmes. Rich racked up undefeated seasons in '95 and '96 en route to a 36-6 record. Charles Balch ('95), Steve Ellis ('94) and Kevin Smith ('96) became All-State MVPs while Brad Weston ('94-96) was a three-time All-State player.

Roosevelt – 1932 – The Roughriders went 4-0 under Mr. Taylor. Roosevelt competed in 11-man football for just five seasons – in 1927, '31-32 and '49-50.

Westlake – 2010 – In just their second year, the Thunder advanced to the state tournament and won a school-record six straight games under Jason Walker and enjoyed an 8-2 season.

2012 Statistical Leaders

The Deseret News website and MaxPreps list many of the top season performers in a number of categories, but here are some not conveniently listed elsewhere or not in one place.

Career Records

Total Offense (6,000 yards min.)

6,655 - Blake Barney, Dixie

6,181 - Austin Kafentzis, Jordan

Rushing Yards (2,500)

3,813 - Jesse Rhodes, Millard

3,311 - Prentiss Miller, Pine View

2,770 - Francis Bernard, Herriman

Rushing Touchdowns (30)

48 - Jesse Rhodes, Millard