High school football: Felt's Facts Week 6

Published: Thursday, Sept. 20 2012 9:00 a.m. MDT

Dave Peck (122 wins) surpassed Bailey Santisteven (101 wins, 1928-53) at Bingham and Ashley Brown (88 wins) vaulted past Jerre Holmes (67 wins, 1991-99) at Rich. Also, Mike Bowring (68 wins) passed Paul Messersmith (52 wins, 1992-99) at Juab and Chris Wise (64 wins) hurdled over Dan Cox (58 wins, 1981-87) at Bear River.

Duchesne's Streak

The Eagles haven't lost since Sept. 3, 2010, a streak of 26 games, and are tied for the fourth longest win streak in state history. (In third is Rich, which won 28 straight from 1994-97.)

Zero Passing Yards

Holding an opponent to no passing yards is fairly rare. But both teams holding their opponent to zero yards passing in the same game is very unusual. But thats what happened with Layton Christian and Milford last week. Actually, LCA did pass for a two-point conversion, but that doesnt count as a completed pass or for yards only as a successful two-point conversion. Sometimes stats are strange.

More Interrupted Contests

Thanks to alert readers, some additional games that were cut short because of weather surfaced during the week.

East had two games cut short in 2000. The Leopards' season opener at Riverton on Aug. 18 was called with 4:15 left in the fourth because of lightning. East won 43-28. Then two weeks later, East hosted Clearfield, and a severe windstorm knocked out power at halftime. The Falcons prevailed 23-3.

(Another game just a few blocks away, Granite at Judge, was also interrupted by the outage. But those teams came back and finished the contest the next Tuesday, Sept. 5.)

On Sept. 23, 2005, Logan won at Ogden 48-0 in a game that ended in the third because of lightning.

On Sept. 16, 2011, Enterprise defeated Kanab 28-7 in a contest that also ended in the third quarter because of a power outage at Enterprise.

In one other interrupted game, Mountain Crest played at Tooele on Sept. 6, 2002. The game was tied 14-14 as the second half was about to begin when a tower used for filming collapsed. Both an adult and student filming the game were airlifted to the hospital where they recovered. The game was cancelled and neither the contest nor the stats counted.

Golden Years – Installment 6

This week: Cottonwood, Desert Hills, Dugway, Hunter, Judge Memorial, Monument Valley, Morgan, North Summit, Parowan, Rich, Roosevelt and Westlake.

(For new readers: During the regular season, Felt's Facts is identifying the golden era in football for almost every high school, excluding a few that are too new, or were too short-lived, to have developed much history. Around a dozen active schools are randomly selected each week, with one or two discontinued programs thrown in for good measure.)

Cottonwood – 2004-2010 – The Colts won five region titles, enjoyed two undefeated regular seasons and made two state championship appearances. During Tom Jones' last three seasons, Cecil Thomas' three years and Josh Lyman's first, Cottonwood went 67-20. Isi Sofele garnered All-State MVP honors in 2008, while three others were two-time All-State recipients: Alex Cate ('04-05), Stanley Havili ('04-05) and John Martinez ('07-08).

Desert Hills – 2009-present (records through 2011) – After posting a losing record its inaugural season, the Thunder powered their way to 22 wins over three seasons and advanced to the state championship game in just their fourth year. Under Jake Nelson, a pair of players, Peter Brown and Bud Pope, became two-time All-State gridders in 2010-11.

Dugway – 1970 – The Mustangs experienced their most successful year as region champions with a 6-0 league record in George Bruce's second season. Dugway went 8-2 overall, posted a school-record five shutouts and allowed just 39 points in its nine regular season games. Steve Brothers, Monte Rudd, Mike Wactor and Richard White received All-State honors. Dugway played 34 seasons, in 1954 and then from 1962-94.

Try out the new DeseretNews.com design!
try beta learn more
Get The Deseret News Everywhere