High school football: Felt's Facts Week 4

Published: Thursday, Sept. 6 2012 8:00 a.m. MDT

Granite – 1929-1933 – The Farmers won two of their three state championships in 1930 and '32 and region trophies in '29, '30 and '32. With Rex "Shify" Sutherland at the helm, Granite went 32-8-4. The 1930 state champ shut out six foes, including three in the state playoffs, and didn't allow more than a touchdown in its other four games. Shirley "Turk" Jackson ('30) and Wally Morse ('32) were impact all-staters on the championship teams. Granite played football for 98 seasons, from 1907 through 2005.

Logan – 2005-2008 – A pair of state and region championships in 2005 and '07 highlight this four-year stretch for the Grizzlies. Logan led the state in offense in '05 and '08. Mike Favero directed Logan to a 41-11 record, including 10-2 in the playoffs, with all-state MVPs Riley Nelson ('05), Jordan Ballam ('07) and Jeff Manning ('08) keying Logan's success.

Mountain View – 1998-1999 – The Bruins grabbed a region title in 1989 and a 17-5 record over two seasons. Coach Randy Rehrer and his son, two-time all-state quarterback Casey Rehrer helped MV to its only 10-win campaign, and one of two undefeated regular seasons, in 1999.

Provo – 1981-1984 – Frank Henderson's first four seasons saw the Bulldogs capture the 1982 state championship en route to a 36-10 record, including a 21-2 mark over '81 and '82 when Provo took back-to-back region titles. The Bulldogs celebrated a school-record 12 victories in '82. During that season, Provo won a state-record seven-overtime game and its only loss was by one point. Provo also advanced to the semifinals in 1983. Sean Covey garnered all-state MVP respect in '82.

Roy – 1975-1977 – The Royals won their only state championship in 1981, but during this three-year period, they collected consecutive region titles ('75 and '76) and were 25-7. The '75 Royals enjoyed one of Roy's two 10-win seasons and its only undefeated regular season. Ernest Jacklin coached the Royals and 1976 all-state MVP Jim McMahon.

San Juan – 2004-present (records through 2011) – The Broncos dominated 2A football, winning state championships in 2006, '09 and '10 and six region garlands, including four straight from 2008-11. Under Monty Lee, San Juan won nearly 85% of its games (78-14) and posted a 14-5 playoff record. The undefeated 2010 Broncos shut out a school-record seven of 12 opponents. San Juan also won 30 straight games from 2009 to 2011. Five of the Broncos' 10 all-time all-state MVPs played during this era: Marley Haws ('06), Jace Holliday ('09), Tranner Sharpe ('06), Cameron Shumway ('10) and Stetler Shumway ('10).

Springville – 1985-1992 – The 1985 season witnessed the Red Devils' only state gridiron crown and undefeated season (12-0). During Ray Bradbury's last five seasons (through 1989) and Doug Bill's first three, Springville speared six region titles and compiled a 63-20 record. The Red Devils won at least one playoff game from 1985-91. All-state MVP Scott Mitchell led the '85 title team.

Stansbury – 2011-present (records through 2011) – After going 3-16 their first two years, the Stallions ripped out a 9-2 season, accompanied by their first playoff appearance and postseason victory. Clint Christiansen coached Stansbury's only all-state player (so far), Jeremy Cafe.

Timpanogos – 2002 – The Timberwolves rolled to a 9-3 record, the best in their 16-year history, and earned their first state playoff win under Frank Bramall. Isley Filiaga gained first-team all-state status.

Wasatch – 1964-1970 – Under long-time coach Dan Wright, the Wasps won five region championships in seven seasons – three straight from 1966-68 – and a 63-15-1 record. The era included three double-digit win seasons, three one-loss seasons, annual playoff visits and two championship-game appearances. Some of the Wasps' all-state players at the time include Dave Densley ('66), George Wilson ('67), Keith Young ('64) and Steve Young ('70).

West Jordan – 1991-1992 – The Jaguars won their first region title (1992) and a playoff game for the first time as Rick Bojack steered WJ to a 16-5 record. Adam Casto made the all-state team in 1991 while Matt Doman, Jason Nelson and Jim Richards were named in '92.

Felt's Facts welcomes questions – email utahprepfb@gmail.com.

Try out the new DeseretNews.com design!
try beta learn more
Get The Deseret News Everywhere