High school football: Felt's Facts Week 4

Published: Thursday, Sept. 6 2012 8:00 a.m. MDT

Morgan and Grantsville clash for the 76th time; the Trojans control the series 45-28-2. The Cowboys won 14-7 in overtime last year to break Morgan's five-game winning streak in the series.

San Juan and Grand meet for the 67th time. The Broncos have grabbed seven straight in the series to up their lead to 39-27.

As mentioned, Ogden battles Ben Lomond for the Iron Horse in a game played annually since 1953. In the series, the Tigers have a 44-19 overall lead, have won four straight. In Iron Horse games (which excludes region and state playoff games), Ogden has a 42-17 margin.

Cedar maintains a 43-15-3 lead entering its 62nd game with Hurricane. The two have split the last eight; Cedar handed the Tigers their last regular season loss, in 2010.

Orem and Provo meet for the 58th time – the Tigers have won four of the last five encounters to take a 30-26-1 series lead.

Payson enjoys a 30-17-2 lead over Lehi as they meet for the 50th time.

Other Game Notes

The West-Cyprus series includes annual meetings since 1993. The Panthers have taken six straight to increase their advantage to 18-8 overall.

Viewmont has defeated cross-town rival Bountiful the past two seasons, but they've split the last 10 to keep the Braves' series edge at 36-21.

Carbon snapped a six game losing streak to Union in 2011, but still trail 14-12 in the series.

Milestone Games

Duchense looks to pick up school victory #200 when the Eagles host Milford.

Carbon and Springville each play their 800th game, Emery its 500th and Canyon View its 150th.

Robbie Gunter is coaching his 100th game in stints at Viewmont and Syracuse. Kory Bosgeiter is directing his 50th game for Fremont.

Dubious Distinction

Desert Hills and West combined for 345 penalty yards, the second-most total penalty yards on record. Dixie (255 penalty yards) and Carbon (95) combined for 350 in a 1981 slugfest that Dixie won, 28-26.

Golden Years – Installment 4

This week: Carbon, Enterprise, Granite, Logan, Mountain View, Provo, Roy, San Juan, Springville, Stansbury, Timpanogos, Wasatch and West Jordan.

(For new readers: During the regular season, Felt's Facts is identifying the golden era in football for almost every high school, excluding a few that are too new or were too short-lived to have developed much history. Around a dozen active schools are randomly selected each week, with one or two discontinued programs thrown in for good measure.)

Carbon – 1929-1942 – Three coaches led Carbon during this era as the school won a state championship in '38 and six region titles. Vernon Merrill (1929-32), Pres Summerhays (1933-40) and Jackson Jewkes (1941-42) guided Carbon to a 79-26-7 record. Under Summerhays, Carbon won four straight region crowns from 1933-36. The '38 championship team shut out six opponents and allowed only a TD in each of the other three games en route to an 8-0-1 season. Ken Prince was named first-team all-stater three times (1937-39), while two-time all-state recipients included Jack Aramaki (1934-35), Vernon Mills (1932-33) and Gene Robertson (1937-38). (Carbon changed from Miners to Dinosaurs or Dinos in 1934.)

Enterprise – 2002-2006 – The Wolves took state in 2003 and a region championship in 2005. Coaching changes didn't bother Enterprise as it compiled a 39-12 record under three coaches, Randy Hunter ('02-03), Dustin Pearce ('04) and Scott Robinson ('05-06). The Wolves also advanced to the championship game in 2002 and '05 and to the semifinals in '04 and '06. Kody Phelps and Kody Probst shared recognition as all-state MVPs in 2003.

Try out the new DeseretNews.com design!
try beta learn more
Get The Deseret News Everywhere