High school football: Felt's Facts Week 3

Published: Wednesday, Aug. 29 2012 10:09 p.m. MDT

Riverton – 2010 – The Silverwolves' best season resulted in a 10-2 record and their only playoff victory. With Mike Miller coaching, Landon Fisher and Skyler Fullmer were named all-state players.

Snow Canyon – 1995-2000 – Two state championships (1996 and '99) and four region titles – a pair at each end of this six-year period – gave the Warrior faithful reason to cheer. SC also advanced to the finals in 1995, the school's second season, and as far as the semifinals two other times. Bill Jacobsen (through 1999) and Wane Kitrell piloted SC to a 59-10 record. Jess Hacker ('99) and Brooksby Stafford ('96) claimed all-state MVP awards.

Tintic – 1918-1920 – The Miners posted seven shutouts and a 9-3 record. Tintic competed in football from 1913 to 1930.

Union – 1965-1967 – Jack Hannum directed the Cougars to their first state championship and their only undefeated season in 1965 when Union finished 10-0-2. The Cougars captured region titles all three seasons en route to a 22-6-2 record. Twelve of the 30 games were shutout victories. The media recognized Richard Daniels, Jess Hullinger, Dave Labrum, Gordon Olsen and Kent Van Tassel as all-state players from the championship team.

Felt's Facts welcomes questions – email utahprepfb@gmail.com.

Get The Deseret News Everywhere