Firework restrictions throughout Utah

Compiled by Jeff Finley and Andrea Whatcott

The Deseret News

Published: Friday, June 29 2012 12:00 a.m. MDT

Eagle Mountain City is banning fireworks from the following subdivisions: Lake Mountain Road, Cedar Pass Ranch, North Ranch, Ruby Valley, Lone Tree, Kiowa Valley, Eagle Top, Point Lookout, Hidden Canyon, Fremont Springs, Meadow Ranch, Valley View, and White Hills.

Elk Ridge

Fireworks are banned in the entire city of Elk Ridge.


Areas in Genola that have firework restrictions are all areas south if Highway 6 withink Genola Town limits, all areas east of 800 East to 1200 North, all areas of Hillside Drive and continuing on 1600 North to Main Street and all areas east of Lake Road within the boundaries of Genola Town limits. For more information go to Genola.org.


There are no additional firework restrictions in the city of Orem.


Fireworks are banned in all of Payson except for in the Payson City Center parking lots, Memorial Park parking lots and Orchard Hills Ball Park parking lot.

Pleasant Grove

Aerial fireworks are banned in all areas east of the Murdock Canal from the south boundary of Pleasant Grove City to 1100 North and east of 100 East from 1100 North to the north boundary of Pleasant Grove City. These defined areas represent the neighborhoods of Battle Creek, Grove Creek, Big Spring and a small portion of Manila. For more information go to PLGrove.org.


Fireworks are prohibited for the majority of the east side of Provo as well as most city parks and BYU Campus. For a detailed map of areas with fireworks restrictions and parks where fireworks are permitted visit: SpanishFork.org.


All fireworks have been banned in the city until conditions improve. The city celebration on July 18 is still scheduled. If extreme fire conditions continue the city may cancel the July 18 event.

Spanish Fork

Fireworks are prohibited in all industrial areas of the city as well as in all areas south of the Spanish Fork River from the west end of the Spanish Oaks Golf Course and eastwardly to the city limits. For more information go to SpanishFork.org.


Fireworks are restricted starting at 1400 North Main (State Road 75) East to 150 East, South to 1150 North then East to Millpond Drive then South to 400 North 400 East. Then East to 800 East and South to 200 North. East to 1170 East and follow 180 North to 1300 East Center. Follow 1300 East to Canyon road then East to 2450 East Canyon Road and proceed South to the Springville/Mapleton boundary line. For more information visit the Utah Fire Marshals list of cities with restrictions and select the Springville link.

Washington County

Apple Valley

Fireworks are not allowed within city limits. Legal fireworks may be discharged on the Smithsonian Fire Department grounds, located at 1777 North Meadowlark Drive.


The city has requested that residents refrain from using fireworks and starting fires.


Due to the extremely high fire danger this year, the City of Hurricane has canceled its July 4 fireworks display. Discharge of fireworks within Hurricane City limits will be prohibited at all times except for on July 4 and July 24, between the hours of 11 a.m. and Midnight, the discharge of fireworks will be allowed only at the following locations:

Spilsbury Park Ball field

American Legion Ball field

Three Falls Park

Try out the new DeseretNews.com design!
try beta learn more
Get The Deseret News Everywhere