West Jordan's Jordan Loveridge named Mr. Basketball

Published: Monday, March 12 2012 2:00 p.m. MDT

Briggs calls him, "the best 6-foot-3 rebounder we ever had."

Through the years, Briggs has referred to him as a monster on the glass and encouraged his younger players to emulate Judd. When he went back recently and looked at those 2001 stats, he realized the "monster" was only pulling in eight rebounds per game. Loveridge averaged over 13 boards this year, finishing with 301 total.

Loveridge credits older players like Reyes Gallegos and Jordan Weirick — who led West Jordan to the 2009 title — for instilling the necessary work ethic at a young age. It's something he'll take with him to the University of Utah.

"I'm just so proud of Jordan. It's not just me, but our whole staff and our whole school, there's just an overall sense of pride for Jordan and West Jordan High," said Briggs.

Past Mr. Basketball winners

2011: Tyrell Corbin, West (UC Davis)

2010: Kyle Collinsworth, Provo (BYU)

2009: Tyler Haws, Lone Peak (BYU)

2008: Tyler Haws, Lone Peak (BYU)

2007: Morgan Grim, Riverton (Utah, Utah St.)

2006: Daniel Deane, Judge (Utah, Oregon St.)

2005: Jackson Emery, Lone Peak (BYU)

2004: Tai Wesley, Provo (Utah State)

2003: Josh Olsen, Alta (Utah)

2002: Brody Van Brocklin, Davis (SLCC)

2001: Jared Jensen, Fremont (BYU)

2000: Garner Meads, Brighton (BYU)

1999: Tim Henry, Mtn. View (SLCC)

1998: Tony Brown, Mtn. Crest (Utah State)

1997: Britton Johnsen, Murray (Utah)

1996: Jeff Johnsen, Murray (Utah)

1995: Jeff Johnsen, Murray (Utah)

1994: Alex Jensen, Viewmont (Utah)

1993: Ben Melmeth, Judge (Utah)

1992: JaRon Boone, Skyline (Nebraska)

1991: Justin Weidauer, Cottonwood (BYU)

1990: Kenneth Roberts, Bingham (BYU)

1989: Shawn Bradley, Emery (BYU)

1988: Matt Bowman, Timpview (UVCC)

1987: Kurt Miller, Ben Lomond (New Mexico)

Top List: Deseret News Mr. Basketball Winners (1998-2012)

email: jedward@desnews.com

Try out the new DeseretNews.com design!
try beta learn more
Get The Deseret News Everywhere