Conference tournament roundup: Buffs claim Pac-12 crown

Associated Press

Published: Saturday, March 10 2012 11:00 p.m. MST

N.C. State's Richard Howell thought he was fouled trying to get off a shot with 1.2 seconds left, but no foul was called on the play and a frustrated Howell had to be pulled away from going after an official by a couple of teammates after the play.

No. 17 FLORIDA STATE 62, No. 6 DUKE 59: At Atlanta, Florida State lost a 10-point lead in the second half before recovering to beat Duke and reach the second ACC tournament championship game in the program's history.

Michael Snaer scored 16 points, including a 3-pointer with 3:27 remaining that gave the Seminoles the lead for good. But No. 17 Florida State (23-9) had to survive some last minute scares — including missed 3-point attempts by Duke's Austin Rivers and Seth Curry in the final six seconds.

Second-seeded Florida State, which ended a run of three straight ACC tournament titles for Duke (27-6), will face top-seeded North Carolina in today's championship game.

SEC Semifinals

No. 1 KENTUCKY 74, No. 22 FLORIDA 71: At New Orleans, Anthony Davis had 15 points and 12 rebounds, and Kentucky held off the Gators in the semifinals of the Southeastern Conference tournament. Terrence Jones added 15 points and nine rebounds for the Wildcats (32-1), who've won 24 straight games and will play Vanderbilt for the league title today.

Doron Lamb scored 16 points and Marquis Teague added 15, with each hitting a pair of key free throws in the last 15 seconds to secure the win.

Erik Murphy had 24 points on 9-of-12 shooting for Florida.

VANDERBILT 65, MISSISSIPPI 53: At New Orleans, John Jenkins scored 23 points, Brad Tinsley added 12 and Vanderbilt beat Mississippi in the other SEC semifinal. It's the first trip to the SEC championship game for Vanderbilt (23-10) since 1951, when the Commodores beat Kentucky 61-57. Jenkins and Tinsley combined to hit five 3-pointers in the second half, and Lance Goulbourne added 10 points and 12 rebounds for the Commodores.

Big Ten Semifinals

No. 8 MICHIGAN STATE 65, No. 14 WISCONSIN 52: At Indianapolis, Draymond Green scored 14 points and had 16 rebounds to lead Michigan State into the Big Ten tournament championship game. It's the first time the Spartans (26-7) will play for the league's postseason title since 2000.

Wisconsin (24-9) was led by Jordan Taylor with 19 points and Ryan Evans with 18, but couldn't avoid their third loss of the season to the Spartans.

No. 7 OHIO STATE 77, No. 10 MICHIGAN 55: At Indianapolis, Jared Sullinger scored 24 points to help Ohio State rout Michigan (24-9) in Saturday's other Big Ten semifinal. Deshaun Thomas scored 22 points and William Buford added 10 for the third-seeded Buckeyes (27-6), who face Michigan State for the title today.

Mountain West Championship

NEW MEXICO 68, No. 18 SAN DIEGO STATE 59: At Las Vegas, Tony Snell made four 3-pointers in the first half and finished with 14 points, and Drew Gordon had 12 points and 12 rebounds as New Mexico overpowered top-seeded and No. 18-ranked San Diego State to win the Mountain West Conference tournament championship.

Coach Steve Alford's Lobos (27-6) are headed to the NCAA Tournament for the second time in three seasons. This is their first MWC tournament championship since 2005.

Kendall Williams also had 14 points for the Lobos, who shared the regular-season title with San Diego State but were the No. 2 seed due to a tiebreaker.

San Diego State (26-7), which never led, is expected to get an at-large NCAA bid. Chase Tapley scored a game-high 25 for SDSU while Jamaal Franklin, the MWC Player of the Year, had 16 points and 10 rebounds.

Big East Championship

Try out the new DeseretNews.com design!
try beta learn more
Get The Deseret News Everywhere