BYUtv tells story of the King James Bible in 'Fires of Faith'

Published: Saturday, Oct. 15 2011 3:18 p.m. MDT

Sunday, Oct. 30, at 8 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. MT & 11 p.m. ET / 9 p.m. MT Wednesday, Nov. 2, at 9 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. MT & midnight ET / 10 p.m. MT

Timeline for the Coming Forth of the King James Bible

1408 – A decree known as “The Constitutions of Oxford” makes translation of the whole Bible or any part of it into English illegal.

1523 – William Tyndale seeks special permission to translate the bible and is denied by the English church.

1536 – Tyndale is charged with heresy and condemned to death. He is strangled and burned at the stake.

1539 – “The Great Bible” is authorized by King Henry VIII and printed as the first Bible in English. It contains the majority of Tyndale’s translation.

1611 – King James orders the translation of a new bible. It features Tyndale’s work and becomes known as the King James Bible.

1620 – An early edition of the King James Bible arrives in America on the Mayflower.

1789 – George Washington is sworn as the first president of the United States in using a 1767 edition of the King James Bible, starting a longstanding tradition of swearing in presidents at their inaugurations.

1861-1865 – During the Civil War, more than three million King James Bibles are distributed to both Union and Confederate troops.

1963 – Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. gives his famous “I have a dream” speech is influenced by passages in the King James Bible (Psalms 30:5, Isaiah 40:4 and Amos 5:24).

2011 – The King James Bible celebrates its 400th anniversary.

Source: BYUtv

Email: ttoone@desnews.com

Twitter: tbtoone

Get The Deseret News Everywhere

Subscribe

Mobile

RSS