Many LDS Church members' headstones carry distinct features

Published: Monday, May 23 2011 4:00 a.m. MDT

However, the largest concentration of former LDS Church leaders is southwest of the Hinckley site, between Grand and Eighth Avenue. That's where Presidents Joseph Fielding Smith, Joseph F. Smith, Wilford Woodruff and some other former LDS leaders are.

The graves of Presidents Heber J. Grant and John Taylor are situated a little north of that area.

An exception is President Spencer W. Kimball, who is buried at the extreme north end of the cemetery, just above Wasatch Avenue. Another is the grave of President Howard W. Hunter, northeast of President Kimball's.

President George Albert Smith is also is buried there.

Presidents Taylor and Grant have stately monuments marking their graves, each one about 25 feet high. Markers for others, such as Presidents Lee and Woodruff, are much smaller. The Hinckleys' monument is also of more modest size.

Those LDS prophets missing from the Salt Lake Cemetery are Joseph Smith, who was laid to rest in Nauvoo, Ill.; Brigham Young, who was buried at his private cemetery in downtown Salt Lake City at 140 E. First Avenue; Lorenzo Snow, who was buried in Brigham City, Utah; and Ezra Taft Benson, who was buried in the Whitney Cemetery in southeastern Idaho.


Get The Deseret News Everywhere