NEW YORK — Drew Brees has won The Associated Press 2008 NFL Offensive Player of the Year award after nearly setting a passing record for yards.

The quarterback of the New Orleans Saints threw for 5,084 yards, 16 fewer than Dan Marino's 1984 mark and only the second time someone has eclipsed 5,000 yards passing in a season.

Although the Saints were 8-8 and didn't make the playoffs, Brees' prolific work earned him 22 votes in balloting by a nationwide panel of 50 sports writers and broadcasters who cover the league. NFL MVP Peyton Manning, quarterback of the Indianapolis Colts, and Minnesota running back Adrian Peterson tied for second with nine votes each.