PORTLAND, Ore. — The NBA says a goaltending call in the final seconds of regulation in the Portland Trail Blazers' overtime loss to the Oklahoma City Thunder on Monday night was incorrect.
Blazers forward LaMarcus Aldridge was called for goaltending on Kevin Durant's attempted layup with six seconds left in the game. The call tied the game, which then went into overtime.
The Thunder went on to win 111-107. Fans at the Rose Garden booed the officials as they left the court.
Aldridge and Blazers coach Nate McMillan said afterward that they did not believe Aldridge touched the ball after it hit the backboard. Instant replay appeared to support them.
Referees cannot use instant replay on goaltending calls.
- Jeff Gordon readies for the Brickyard in...
- Froome crashes in Tour, finishes stage with...
- Former NFL coach Dennis Green dies at 67
- Warriors' Draymond Green settles assault case...
- Blame game follows NBA's removal of Charlotte...
- Froome keeps lead intact, set to secure 3rd...
- Ready or Not: Rio Olympics open doors at...
- 20 years ago: Palacios defends marathon title
- BYU football: Certain games on the... 100
- Morning links: National college... 98
- Report: Tom Holmoe tells Big 12 he's... 80
- BYU football coaching staff upbeat... 34
- Morning links: Utah Jazz on the rise;... 34
- Former BYU QB Max Hall confronts... 31
- Blame game follows NBA's removal of... 7
- Former BYU coach Bronco Mendenhall says... 7