BYUtv re-airing King James Bible documentary

Published: Friday, Dec. 9 2011 7:28 p.m. MST

William Tyndale prepares to die at the stake. More than 80 percent of the King James Bible, printed in 1611, can be attributed to British religious scholar William Tyndale. His story is featured in "Fires of Faith: The Coming Forth of the King James Bible."

Deseret News Archive

The celebration of the 400th anniversary of the King James Bible will continue in December.

Starting Dec. 11, BYUtv will re-air the first of a three-part documentary called "Fires of Faith: The Coming Forth of the King James Bible." The second episode will air on Dec. 18 and the third on Dec. 25.

The documentary focuses on William Tyndale and his fellow martyrs who played a role in bringing forth the King James Bible, which has had a major impact on religion, language, culture, art and literature.

To produce the documentary, BYUtv flimed more than 130 re-enactments in eight different countries at many of the actual sites where original events took place. Eighteen international scholars and religious leaders were interviewed.

To see a trailer of the documentary, visit BYUtv.org.

Email: ttoone@desnews.com

Twitter: tbtoone

Schedule

Sunday, Dec. 11: Part 1, "Yearning for the Word," 7 p.m. EST (5 p.m. MST, 4 p.m. PST), 11 p.m. EST (9 p.m. MST, 8 p.m. PST) and 1 p.m. EST (11 a.m. MST, 10 a.m. PST)

Sunday, Dec. 18: Part 2, "Martyrs for a Book," 7 p.m. EST (5 p.m. MST, 4 p.m. PST), 11 p.m. EST (9 p.m. MST, 8 p.m. PST) and 1 p.m. EST (11 a.m. MST, 10 a.m. PST)

Sunday, Dec. 25: Part 3, "The King James Bible," 7 p.m. EST (5 p.m. MST, 4 p.m. PST), 11 p.m. EST (9 p.m. MST, 8 p.m. PST) and 1 p.m. EST (11 a.m. MST, 10 a.m. PST)

Get The Deseret News Everywhere

Subscribe

Mobile

RSS