From Deseret News archives:

Microsoft sues 3 men, charging infringement

Published: Monday, Aug. 21, 2006 9:26 p.m. MDT
 |  E-MAIL | PRINT | FONT + - 
When is a Web site like windowshome.info not a Microsoft Web site?

When it's a site operated by three people, including two Utahns, designed to trick people into thinking it's a Microsoft site. So says Washington-based Microsoft Corp. in a lawsuit filed Monday in U.S. District Court in Salt Lake City.

The suit says that Jason Cox of Albuquerque, Daniel Goggins of Provo and John Jonas of Springville, as individuals and also doing business as Jonas and Goggins Studios LLC and Newtonarch LLC, infringed Microsoft's trade and service marks by registering Internet domain names identical to or confusingly similar to Microsoft's trademarks and service marks.

The suit lists 324 such domain names that Microsoft charges infringe on its Age of Empires, Halo, Hotmail, Microsoft, MSN, Windows, Windows XP, Xbox and Xbox Live marks. The list includes 1microsoft67.info, 1halo2home.info, 1microsoftexcel37.info, 1msn59.info, 1windowsxp36.info, 1xbox52.info, ageofempiressite.info, halo2player.com, halo2online.info and windowshome.info.

Story continues below
"When a person looking for a Microsoft Web site lands on one of the defendants' Web sites, that person may click on one of the advertisements or hyperlinks on the site either because the person finds it easier to click on the advertisement or hyperlink than to continue searching for the Microsoft site, or because the person mistakenly believes Microsoft has authorized or endorsed the advertisements or hyperlinks," the suit states. "In either case, the person has been diverted from the Microsoft Web site he or she was seeking to visit, and Microsoft has lost that opportunity to interact with that person."

The suit says the defendants were paid for visitor clicks on the ads or hyperlinks and may also profit from the sale of the domain names.

The suit charges the defendants were involved in "cybersquatting," trademark infringement, false designation of origin, unfair competition/false advertising and unfair business practices.

It seeks an injunction against their using Microsoft trade names, trademarks or service marks in connection with any software or other computer product or services; infringing on the Microsoft marks; and registering any domain names identical or confusingly similar to Microsoft's marks. It also wants the court to order the forfeiture or cancellation of the allegedly infringing domain names or transfer them to Microsoft. It also seeks monetary damages of an unspecified amount.


E-mail: bwallace@desnews.com

Comments

You can be the first to comment on this story.

previousnext

Latest comments

Maya was wronged. The trophy was stolen. The judges had to give him a 30 so...

Go Coug's I'll be there at LES and I expect a great finsh from Max Pitta and Co.

Y. focused on 10-win season

At least he won't be a stupid Junior. Has anyone played worse in the rivalry...

I was hoping they would win, but the were up against a lot of great talent....

I agree completely with your comments about Jay Leno. He goes way to far and...

I, too, think Mr. Gale does a great job with his articles. His...

We should drill more and lower the price globally for oil. Fine build nuclear...

Utahns prove love for Twilight

No I don't own a poster of shirtless Jacob - but there is a huge difference...

Gary, What nonsense! Specify the emails that "prove" deception. You...

if you guys don't think soccer is a sport? then what do you consider a sport?...

Advertisements